RSS

Healing steps

08 Nov

Things I have “finally” done:

  • deleted his phone numbers from my cell phone
  • copied all of the him-specific photographs from my computer to a disc so I can delete them from my computer. 
  • copied all other heart-wrenching (and sometimes wonderfully written) documents and emails to disc and deleted from computer.
  • deleted his ‘label’ and the associated messages in gmail
  • found more of his photographs I’d had blown up to wall-hanging size (ones he didn’t presumptively ‘take for his own’ last june) and now have them accessible for burning
  • thought of him and did not need to hit something or vomit
  • thought of what he had perpetrated and did not get that stunned, uncomprehending brain-freeze
  • ate in old ‘haunts’ without thinking of him
  • woken up without thinking of him

 
Soon  …  I’ll make it a day, a week…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2007 in Inner Life, recovery, Relationships

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Healing steps

  1. brightfeather

    November 8, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    My heart reaches out to you. You are taking the correct steps. This is a painful time but it will get better. Take the time you need to recover. Dispel the myths that lurk in the corner’s of the mind. Remember that whenever a door closes a window opens and look for the sun and fresh air. http://thistimethisspace.com/2007/10/03/healing-a-broken-heart/

     
  2. terraflora

    November 9, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    I thank you very much for the support in the process. I’ve gone a few weeks now where this isn’t what my friends at work talk to me about. And at times I still need to talk about it. Yes – I know I am taking the right steps. In my time. And I know I am free-er than ever before. I will continue to try to see that new open window!!

     
  3. ian in hamburg

    November 11, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    Interesting your link under relationships in how to spot a (love) con. Are you getting over a sociopath? If so, I know what you’re going through, though I didn’t so much as have a relationship as a long, drawn-out charade with one. I was lucky, I guess, in that I managed to not only tell her that I figured out what her disorder was (narcissistic / histrionic ) but got away without drama. Scary time though, suddenly realising a “friend” is anything but.

     
  4. terraflora

    November 11, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    ian.. yes. One of the most chilling experiences I’ve ever had… to realize how completely blind I was to such a complete lack… of a soul. Of humanity. I was so stunned-dumbfounded… looking to make ANY sense out of it all. Thanks to lovefraud.com and the Sociopath Next Door book.. identified the disorder. AND I realized these folks are virtually impossible for even an experienced professional to spot. (So .. there’s some alleviation from needing to smack myself upside the head!!)
    I was ALSO blessedly lucky in that he wasn’t interested in money & power.. just ego massages, his own emotions & other peoples’ hearts.
    Scary time is right. That this ‘person’ could turn out to be, as you say, “anything but”!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
